Arthur H. Goodman Scholarship

Through the Arthur H. Goodman Scholarship Endowment Fund, CDC Small Business Finance provides financial assistance to dynamic, community-minded women and minority students transitioning from a community college in California, Arizona, and Nevada to a four-year university.

This annual award is open to applications from deserving individuals who are entering the fall semester. Please note this is not for high school graduates matriculating to a 4-year university or community college.

Application Window: March 10, 2022 – June 3, 2022. Please click the button below to download the scholarship application:


Hear Art Goodman’s Story:

Play video

He cared deeply about small business owners in San Diego. He lead with a passion to get things done and find a way to help as many people as possible.

Arthur Goodman Former CEO, CDC Small Business Finance

Recipient/Juan Flores
From Gang Life To Dean’s List: He Overcame Street Violence And Reached UC Berkeley
Recipient/Rachelle Hornby
CDC Scholarship Supports ‘Wonder Woman’ Scholar
Recipient/Dalila Robledo
From Remedial Math To CERN, a World-Renowned Scientific Research Center


Nancy Carlson – University of California, Irvine
Jaynelle Granados – University of Southern California
Maria Lopez-Vazquez – University of California, Berkeley

2020 Winners

Jaynelle Granados – USC
Leighton Ledesma – CSU Channel Islands
Chelsie Martinez – Santa Clara University
Tiffany Nguyen – UCLA
Yadira Zapien – UCLA

Previous Winners

Alberto Tapia-Lopez — UC Berkeley
Alicia Vasquez — UC San Diego
Aurora Lopez — UC Berkeley
Cesar Garcia — UC Berkeley
Leighton Ledesma — CSU, Channel Islands
Miski Abdi – UCLA
Leticia Cervantes – UC Santa Barbara
Denisse Chacon – CSU Sacramento
Juan Flores – UC Berkeley
Luz Dalila Robledo – UC Berkeley
Alberto Tapia – UC Berkeley
Juan Flores – UC Berkeley
Luz Robledo – UC Berkeley
Cesar Alva – UC San Diego
Carine Truscott – Azusa Pacific University
Rachelle Hornby – University of Arizona
Matthew Mojica – UC Santa Cruz
Nancy Muniz – San Diego State University
Fatimata Sanogo – UCSD
Carine Truscott – Azusa Pacific University
Jamie M. Harrison – UC Santa Cruz
Fatimata Sanogo – UC Berkeley
Monica Sias – UC Berkeley
Justino Eduardo Guerrero – UC Berkeley
Rachel Rossi – UC Berkeley
Brittany Stearns – University of Arizona
Anh Le – CSU Long Beach
Mary Tamsin Thoren – California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Alberto Vasquez – UC San Diego
Nora Paramo – University of San Diego
Sanminder Singh – UC San Diego
Nasra Nimaga – UC Los Angeles
Belinda Belinger – Sarah Lawrence College
Minh Nguyen – UC San Diego
Bahawa Nimaga – UC San Diego
Nan Ave – UC San Diego
Maria Celles – UC Los Angeles
Maria Alvarez – University of California, Berkeley
Elena Chavez – Cal State Poly Pomona
Ron Cortez, Jr. – San Diego State University
Cecilia Kasperick – University of San Diego
Jennifer Merryman – UC San Diego
Dorothy Pirtle – UC Irvine
Sandra Ramirez – UCLA
Thao Do – UC San Diego
Jennifer Merryman – UC San Diego
Nguyen Phan – UCLA
Ricky Pope – San Diego State University
Victoria Wilcox – San Diego State University
Yuet-Ki Lam – University of California-Berkeley
Angel Lam – University of California-Berkeley
Enrica Macklin – University of San Diego
Cecilia Godinez – San Diego State University
Tanisha French – La Sierra University
Violeta Rubio – University of San Diego



Want to Invest in a Bright Future? Here’s How to Contribute:

Mail checks payable to The San Diego Foundation with Fund #4072 on the memo line to:

The San Diego Foundation
Attn: Donations
2508 Historic Decatur Rd.
Ste. 200
San Diego, CA 92106

Call 619.235.2300 (M- F, 8am-5pm). Note Fund #4072. A transaction fee of 3.5% will apply.

Contact Robert Villarreal or call him at 619.243.8652

A Special Thank you to Our Generous Donors


Sign up for our Blog

Get the latest news + updates

Please check your email and confirm your subscription.